Precedent- the previous review (commenced in 2011)

The City Council's representation was very much focussed on maintaining the historic link between the two Cities, of London and Westminster. The initial proposals took this link away and linked the City of London with an Islington and Camden constituency.

Our constituencies currently and in 2011 were as follows:

Cities of London and Westminster:

The City of London and Bryanston and Dorset Square, Churchill, Hyde Park, Knightsbridge & Belgravia, Marylebone High Street, St James's, Tachbrook, Vincent Square, Warwick and West End wards.

Westminster North:

Abbey Road, Bayswater, Church Street, Harrow Road, Lancaster Gate, Little Venice, Maida Vale, Queen's Park, Regent's Park and Westbourne wards.

The initial proposals made by the Commission at the previous review were:

Camden and Regent's Park was comprised of four Westminster wards (Bryanston and Dorset Square, Church Street, Marylebone High Street, Regent's Park, plus seven London Borough of Camden wards.

Paddington was comprised of nine Westminster wards (Abbey Road, Bayswater, Harrow Road, Hyde Park, Lancaster Gate, Little Venice, Maida Vale, Queen's Park, Westbourne) plus four Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea wards.

Westminster and Kensington was comprised of seven Westminster wards (Churchill, Knightsbridge and Belgravia, St James's, Tachbrook, Vincent Square, Warwick, West End) plus eight Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea wards

The City Council made representation as follows:

The City Council made representation agreed by the General Purposes Committee on 24 November 2011 to the Commission on 30 November 2011. The Commission's revised proposals (which were never enacted- see below) were in large part the same as those made by the City Council. In terms of the three parliamentary constituencies which contain Westminster wards, the only differences between the Commission's revised proposals and the City Council's representation were that in Camden Town and Regent's Park constituency the Commission included the Camden wards of Gospel Oak and Kentish Town and not the Camden wards of St Pancras and Somers Town and Belsize as proposed by the City Council.

The Cities of London and Westminster constituency

The City of London with 12 Westminster wards
The City of London, Bayswater, Bryanston and Dorset Square, Churchill, Hyde
Park, Lancaster Gate, Marylebone High Street, St James's, Tachbrook,
Vincent Square, Warwick, West End, Westbourne

Kensington constituency

12 Kensington and Chelsea wards with 3 Westminster wards Abingdon, Brompton, Campden, Colville, Golborne, Hans Town, Holland, Norland, Notting Barns, Pembridge, Queen's Gate, St Charles, Harrow Road (WCC), Knightsbridge & Belgravia (WCC), Queen's Park (WCC).

Camden Town and Regent's Park constituency

6 Camden wards with 5 Westminster wards Camden Town with Primrose Hill, Cantelowes, Gospel Oak, Haverstock, Kentish Town, Regent's Park, Abbey Road (WCC), Church Street (WCC), Little Venice (WCC), Maida Vale (WCC), Regent's Park (WCC).